Rebecca Day

Welcome!

Posted by rwday on September 18, 2007

I made a decision today and the result was this WordPress blog. I have a website I’m very proud of, http://www.rwday.net, designed by the talented Erastes, and I have a Livejournal. So why, you might ask, do I need yet another site?

Because when it comes down to it, I suck at html beyond bold, italics, underline and such. I don’t really enjoy updating my webpage, so the poor thing is always languishing in neglect, and my LJ has transitioned into much more than a writing journal – I talk there about the SCA, work, family, politics. Everything. But I’ve got people on my flist who are only interested in my writing and I hate making them read through long, dull blog entries about my dogs to get to the few posts about writing. Hence this blog, inspired both by the insightful article on web design for authors by Ann Somerville of Uniquely Pleasurable and Evremonde’s spiff new WordPress site

This will be all writing, all the time. Well, ‘all the time’ meaning as often as I update, which probably won’t be all that often. I’ll also keep up-to-date lists of my published works and my novels in progress here – they’re right above this entry in subpages. Eventually, there will be a page on submission stats, though not today – I’ve spent enough time on this already.

So. Today, while waiting for our kitchen floor to be put in, I edited chapter 2 of Ashes, queried a couple of old submissions and resubmitted three stories. Once I finish here, I’ve got to get back into my research into 19th century magical/esoteric movements, which is way more interesting than I thought it would be.

Stats – 9/18/07

  • Submissions sent – 3
  • Responses received -0
  • Words Written – 0
  • Pages edited – 48
4 Responses to “Welcome!”

  1. Erastes said

    Ok- now you need to make this look nice too!

  2. rwday said

    Ugh, no way to directly reply to your comment so you can see I replied. Oh well, this isn’t going to be a communication tool in the same way LJ is anyway.

    Ok- now you need to make this look nice too!.

    I think it does, or I wouldn’t have picked it! đŸ™‚

  3. Renee said

    This looks great! Love the simplicity and elegance. I actually wish I didn’t have those funky weird flora things on the upper-left part of my blog, but beggars can’t be choosers.

    Go writing!

  4. rwday said

    Thanks, Renee. I actually like your funky weird flora things, but I know what you mean. It would be nice if it was a little more customizable, but I guess that would just be another distraction from writing. Like I need any more of those.

Leave a Reply

 
