Rebecca Day

Titles? We don’t need no stinkin’ titles!

Posted by rwday on September 25, 2007

I submitted a story to the Hardboiled Horror anthology last night and got an almost immediate acknowledgement of receipt.  I really, really appreciate that.  So often you send your stuff off into a massive black hole and it’s anybody’s guess if it even got to the destination.

 That makes 4 stories currently out, which is way down from my former average of 10, but considering that till recently I hadn’t submitted anything in a year, it’s not a bad start.  I’ll be adding at least one more tonight as I’m going to try “Mourning Jewel” at Strange Horizons.  It’s a longshot, but worth a try.  And I’ll get “Urn” back to IGMS sometime tomorrow or Thursday, I hope, so there’s 6!

This was so much easier when I worked in the afternoon.  I’m a morning person, my most productive time is probably from 7 – 10 a.m.  I never should have switched my schedule when I had the chance, and now that they’ve hired the afternoon person, I can’t switch back.  What I really want to do is quit working and write full time, and if I’d been smarter with the money from my father, I could be doing that.  Of course, at the time, I thought I wasn’t going to write anymore.  *sighs*   I don’t regret the traveling, or the new garage, really, but if I could go back, I’d make different choices.  Oh well, at least I have a job that allows me to surf the Internet, write, and take time off pretty much whenever I want.  Many other writers have succeeded in far worse situations than mine.

3 Responses to “Titles? We don’t need no stinkin’ titles!”

  1. Renee said

    Good luck with Strange Horizons! I heard that it’s an excellent market but pretty challenging to get into (I don’t doubt your talents at all, but you know how we’re all at the mercy of editors’ quirks).

    Actually, good luck with all the stories, period! 😀

    I’m a night person when it comes to writing. The entire universe needs to be quiet for me to think, but I’m also able to write during the day as long as it’s a weekday, when everyone’s at work.

  2. Anonymous said

    In the past I’ve got some positive rejections from SH, some forms, some ‘what the hell were you thinking, you talentless twit?’ They’re actually one of the easier SFWA qualifying markets to break into due to how many stories they buy.

    I wish I could write at night. I can, really, can write in the afternoon too, but I know it’s not when I’m at my best.

  3. grzzap said

    Nice Site!

Leave a Reply

 
