Rebecca Day

Points of view and logic, which is not a tweeting bird…

Posted by rwday on February 21, 2008

Bonus points for anyone who gets the quote in my entry title. 

I check my Amazon sales stats occasionally and just noticed that Thaw is now available for the Amazon Kindle!  I’m assuming this is something Iris arranged, and I’m grateful for it.

 While I wouldn’t really want to publish in an e-book only format, I think multiple formats are fabulous as they give readers choices.  I don’t really like to read on the screen (though the Kindle does look pretty cool) but lots of people do. 

In other news, I’m almost done clearing out my backlog of completed stories.  I’ve got 11 in circulation now, up from 2 in January.  Chapter 11 of Fim is nearly done, but I’m going to do some serious rewriting before I move that story arc forward because what I have doesn’t really work for me – I’ve lost the feel for the character, and I’m trying to move her in a direction that she doesn’t want to go, but must.

I’m going to continue behind WordPress’s version of a cut, because this is mostly for me.   Don’t read if you care about some vague spoilers in an unpublished book.

Basically I’m setting up this particular character to be profoundly affected by changes both in herself and her environment.  She’s been taken away from the only mother she’s known and sent from a busy city to an isolated manor, completely surrounded by strangers of a different social class who think she’s someone she’s not.  She’s also in the process of discovering that she has powers she  was previously unaware of, and is goign to start testing the limits of those powers deliberately, even though it terrifies her to do so.   The end result of all of this is that she becomes vulnerable to a series of events that will capsize her world even further, culminating in an epiphany which sets her on a path completely opposite to where she’s been.

 Vague enough? 

The problem is that this character isn’t horribly introspective.  She’s not stupid by any means, but when you’re an uneducated peasant living in the underbelly of a medieval city, you’re not generally prone to philosophical meanderings or a great deal of self-reflection.  You’re too busy surviving.  Events occur, you react to them, and there’s logic to your reaction, but you don’t overthink it.  So I have to make her reactions appear logical, but I can’t go into vast paragraphs of internal exploration to justify her behavior.  It has to (OMG!) make sense and stand on its own. 

I know it will work out in the end – it’s just that I find writing some of the other characters who are more like me quite a bit easier.  This challenge is good, though. I definitely don’t want to be one of those writers who writes every main character as a self-inserted Mary Sue.

2 Responses to “Points of view and logic, which is not a tweeting bird…”

  1. Marion said

    Logic is a little tweeting bird … only if you’re Spock, and you’re trying to discombobulate Norman.

    I am not programmed to respond in that area.

  2. rwday said

    Marion –

    Yup. Norman, coordinate!

Leave a Reply

 
