Rebecca Day

Back from the Dead, Again

Posted by rwday on May 13, 2008

Wow.  It’s been a loooooooong time since I’ve updated here.  Sorry about that.  I’ll try not to ramble on – I think shorter, more frequent entries are probably more readable than spewing out the blogging equivalent of War & Peace every 3 months.

So, news.  Mostly bad – rejections from several publications, and I’ve been too lazy to send the stories out, or in one case, I’ve just about decided to retire it to the trunk.  I miss writing short stories, to be honest, and considering how awful I’m doing on the novel front, I really ought to just go back to the short stuff for a while.

Good – I’ve had a number of really nice emails from readers of Thaw wanting to know about a sequel.  It really is mostly done – it was all done till I got a bee in my bonnet about changing the Callan sequences into something a little less angst-filled.  I started on the rewrite, guns blazing, only to be totally distracted by life, my garden, a lot of novels (to read), and some very bad television.

Also in the ‘bad’ category – I can’t get through to my publisher.  I haven’t heard anything about my first quarter 2008 sales, so I’ve written 3 times now.  Nothing.  Nada.  Zilch.  Not even a ‘I got your email, am working on it, please be patient.’  Not even bounce messages, so I can only assume my email is getting through and being ignored, or that something very awful has happened to my publisher. I can’t express how frustrating that is.  Seriously, any response is better than silence.  Even ‘eff off and die, you annoying author b***h’ would be an improvement.  ‘Nuff said for now, but there may be more on this topic if things don’t improve.

I mentioned this on the LJ, but as this blog is the ‘writing’ one, it should be noted here – I’m letting my website and domain name lapse.  I’m just not writing enough (or earning enough – see previous paragraph!) to justify its continued expense, not when this blog is free.  If at some point I start to sell seriously again, I’ll get another site, but as I’m not even writing under R.W. Day anymore, having rwday.net doesn’t make a whole lot of sense.

I have some rambling thoughts on what I’m going to attempt to write next, but I think those can wait.  My basic problem is that I have too many ideas – I’m trying to write like I read.  I generally read anywhere from 3-6 books at a time.  They sit in various places in my house and I pick them up as I’m cooking, getting ready for bed, watching TV, on work breaks.  That works for reading.  It doesn’t work for writing, where you (or I, at least) really have to immerse myself in the world and characters.  I’ve got to commit.  Unfortunately, indecision is pretty much a theme of my life – see my 60 gazillion college majors, for example.

8 Responses to “Back from the Dead, Again”

  1. Erastes said

    Sorry to hear about all of this, sweetie. You know I’m supporting you. Hope you can get back on track.

  2. Ouch. I’m sorry to hear about all of this, especially because the publisher seemed like such a good one at the beginning. Especially because your book is simply amazing, and I want to see more from you. Please don’t disappear into the ether!

  3. cbpotts said

    You should read the comments here

    And I am very sorry that Kellie is doing this to you.

  4. rwday said

    Erastes, thanks as always. I’m sure I can get back on track if I just get off my lazy arse.

  5. rwday said

    CB, thank you for the link, and I’m sorry too. You’ve got sales to Iris, don’t you? Are you hearing anything?

  6. rwday said

    Sabrina, thank you so much. I’m glad you liked the book, and I don’t plan on disappearing. It’s just difficult right now to carve out the time to write. That’s totally my fault – I know people who have way busier lives than I do who produce like crazy, but I’m too much the procrastinator.

    As to Iris, I’m not sure what’s up with that. I think Kellie is probably upset that her dreams for her company haven’t gone as she likes, possibly a bit embarrassed now for not being in touch and so it’s even harder for her to make contact. I understand. I remember being younger and having bills I couldn’t pay – hiding from the phone, throwing away the mail. It’s a natural human reaction, but it doesn’t help the situation at all.

  7. cbpotts said

    The only thing I’ve got with her is the short LFE 2065, which showed up in When Worlds Collide. I pulled Home on the Range in the early part of this year, and now am glad I did, although it means I’ve got this big old homeless scripts. At some point, when I have free time, I shall turn it into a novel.

    My main concern (well, two main concerns — one is that the people who preordered Queer Magic have not been refunded any $) is that the creators like you don’t leave the field just because of this. You’re too talented to walk away, and I’m not alone in that opinion!

  8. rwday said

    Oh, yes, sorry. I remember reading that you’d pulled Home on the Range. Good decision, as you pointed out in your LJ entry. I’m sure it’s only homeless temporarily.

    I’m not going anywhere – it may take me a while to get back to writing, but as I said over at your journal, that’s not anything to do with Kellie. It’s real life stuff – work, family, grad school. It won’t last forever. Is Queer Magic cancelled too? That sucks. 😦

Leave a Reply

 
