Rebecca Day

Sale!

Posted by rwday on May 21, 2008

First one of 2008, “Imago Dei” to Fictitious Force for 1 cent a word.  That’s about $40, which for me, isn’t bad.  But it isn’t about the money, it’s about finally feeling like a writer again (Yeah, I know – I’d feel more like a writer if I spent more time writing.)  I’m happy.

This good news does a little bit to make up for the uncertainty about Thaw.  Still no word from Kellie – it’s as though she’s dropped off the face of the earth and taken my royalties with her.  Next week, when I get paid, I’m making an appointment with a lawyer. I’ve already researched some through Martindale.com, found some local IP/contracts people who should be able to help me.  At this point, even if the lawyer fees are far more than I could ever hope to make from royalties, I think I’m going to go ahead and do it.  I have nothing against Kellie personally – she always seemed very pleasant, and I enjoyed working with her on the editing of the book, but this isn’t personal.  It’s business, and I have to look out for my interests.

Anyway, on my quest to get re-motivated, I went looking for some writing prompts, and found a few.  The Prompt Writer, the Evil Overlord Plot Generator, Writing Prompt Generator (this one’s for kids, but seriously, who can resist writing about ‘the upscale pine tree that went crazy?’), and the Random Idea Generator .  I don’t know if they’re any good, but it’s worth a try.

10 Responses to “Sale!”

  1. Erastes said

    Oh hurrah! And well done, sweetie!

  2. gynocrat said

    SALE! It does make you feel great doesn’t it?

    I think I might have to do the same thing. :/ It’s pathetic that I have to spend money, just to find out what the hell is going on with my title.

  3. rwday said

    Thanks guys. And yes, it is pathetic, but what else can we do? We’ve emailed, I’ve left a comment at the Iris blog, you’ve called. If she wont’ answer us, or your representative, maybe she’ll answer a lawyer.

  4. Keira said

    So sorry to hear about the problems with Iris! That really blows.

    I read Thaw last week and absolutely adored it. I’d really, really, really, really, really (really) love to read a sequel, so I hope that you do decide to go forward with it.

    And congrats on the sale!

  5. gynocrat said

    Hey Beck, did you ever find a lawyer? As of today 6/3, my rep Carrie still hasn’t gotten her emails answered. I’m wondering if I can just release the book on my own, or do I need to have her served first? 😦

  6. rwday said

    Keira,

    Thank you so much! There is a sequel, and I really hope you get a chance to read it soon. Every comment like yours gives me that much more motivation to get back to work on it.

  7. rwday said

    Hi Tina,

    No, no lawyer, and I got my royalty check yesterday. Unreal that you haven’t heard anything – there’s just no excuse at all. Whether she likes you or not ought to be irrelevant. This is business, not junior high.

    I think you or your rep really ought to go in and consult with a lawyer. You can sometimes get a low cost consultation if you use a lawyer referral service like the one the Virginia State Bar offers. Or some lawyers will give the first 30 minutes free. Ask your questions and see if you can proceed on your own.

  8. gynocrat said

    I’m going to have my rep make a public statement at the blog requesting her to please reply to her emails. After that, I’ll have to get a lawyer. 😦

    Do you think having my rep post there is a mistake?

  9. rwday said

    No, I don’t think it’s a mistake at all. What else can you do? It’s inexcusably rude of her not to have contacted you, IMO.

  10. gynocrat said

    I called it off – I give up. She’s not going to pay me for books sold or contact me anytime soon. I’ll just wait till she ‘officially’ closes her doors and then release the title on my own.

Leave a Reply

 
