Rebecca Day

The plan, such as it is.

Posted by rwday on March 2, 2009

I had a pretty productive weekend, writing-wise.  I got through Chapter 12 of the edits, though now the hard part starts. 

I want to use this blog as a place to work out problems with the book, but I recognize that a lot of people are spoiler-phobic, so I’ll try and put any spoilers behind WordPress’s version of a cut. 

Thaw was very much David’s story, so staying in his point of view was logical.  Ashes broadens out in theme and scope, so it’s necessary for me to split the point of view, keeping the bulk of it in David’s POV, with Callan providing secondary viewpoint.  And yes, that means they’re separated for at least some of the story.

David’s part is pretty well set.  I’m making minor changes, toning down a couple of fandom-inspired sex scenes I’m just not comfortable with, killing redundant description, tweaking it here and there.  The Callan sections essentially need a complete rewrite because I feel like what I’ve written isn’t really true to his character.  Basically, he needs to be a more active force in the events around him and less a victim.  I think I  know how I’m going to do that,  but it’s going to be a lot of work.

So I’m taking the path of least resistance and taking the two parts separately, not going chapter by chapter from this point on.  My goal is to have David’s story completely done by Wednesday, then Callan’s done by the middle of March.  After that, I’ll take another few days to edit the last sections, where their stories come together again, then maybe send it off to a couple of readers before putting a final polish on.

Bottom line, I want this thing in Steve’s inbox by April 1.

3 Responses to “The plan, such as it is.”

  1. Travis said

    I am so happy I found your postings here. I came upon Strong and Sudden Thaw by pure happenstance and I can’t tell you how much it meant to me. I’m 18 now and away from the life that made me hide myself deep in the world that you created, wishing life was better. You probably get this all the time but I wanted to thank you for helping me through some tough times that I didn’t think would end. You made a difference to me.

    Travis

  2. rwday said

    Travis, I don’t even know what to say – your comment touched me in a way that feedback rarely has, so no, I don’t get this all the time, and even if I did, it wouldn’t make what you’ve said here mean any less. I’m glad you’re in a better place now, and am humbled that my book was of value to you when you needed it. There’s no higher praise an author can get, no greater reward than knowing my story made a difference. Thank you.

    Best wishes and much happiness to you,

    R.W. Day

  3. Jevaris (Javaris) said

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    5 Facts You MUST Understand if You Are Ever Going to Lose Your Belly Fat and Get Six Pack Abs

Leave a Reply

 
