Rebecca Day

Oceania has always been at war with Eastasia…

Posted by rwday on July 14, 2009

I’m taking a leaf from Erastes’ page, put aside the rewrite sections and am working on the end first.

I’d already cleaned up the last chapter (30), which didn’t need too much alteration, but Chapter 29 had to be significantly restructured to accommodate the plot changes I’ve made, and I may cut even more. I’m closely examining each scene to see if it contributes to the development of the plot or reveals something important about the characters, and if it doesn’t, I’m letting it go. I couldn’t do that before – I was too close to the story, and to a certain extent for me, the way I write something initially feels like the way it ‘actually happened,’ and changing it makes me feel like Winston Smith at the Ministry of Truth.

But that’s stupid – I’m in control, and the story can go any way I want it to. Once it’s published, then it’s final. Except in the minds of readers, who are free to imagine any AU they want. No, Sirius Black isn’t dead – it’s all in your head…

2 Responses to “Oceania has always been at war with Eastasia…”

  1. Erastes said

    I still haven’t been able to change stuff, so I’m impressed with you there!

    Well done! Keep it up!

    *whippity*

  2. rwday said

    Thanks, sweetie. I really feel like I’ve got beyond a barrier and this book is going to happen. Soon.

    And I know you’re busy, but I would very much love for you to read the finished, revised version and give me an opinion. You know how it used to be, so you’d be able to tell me if it’s better/worse/whatever. If you can’t, no worries, but your opinion is always valuable.

Leave a Reply

 
