Rebecca Day

Art imitates life, whether it wants to or not…

Posted by rwday on July 18, 2009

Or there are no coincidences. I’ll explain below the cut, as my ramblings may contain inadvertent spoilers.

But first, I actually managed to edit 3 chapters today, even while working 8 hours at Windsor Woods Area Library for a bit of extra money. The bookdrop room is a fabulous place for editing, and Google Docs makes it so easy. I remember trying to write back in the pre-Internet days – now that took dedication.


I really hope this works for people reading this in RSS like a LiveJournal cut and if you don’t want to see it, you’re not forced to.

Anyway, a group of actors figures somewhat prominently in this book (I know – it sounds odd, but trust me, it works) and there’s a performance of King Lear, which is one of my favorite Shakespeare plays.  Anyway, one of the actors is somewhat inspired (in a very loose, surface and non-sue-able way) by Sir Ian McKellen, and so I was absolutely thrilled when he played Lear a couple of years back – I had tickets to see it in New York, but wasn’t able to go. Am still disappointed about that.

So, I was surfing around to see if that performance had ended up on DVD (it has, and I have a copy on the way) and ran across Sir Ian’s official site. Among his writings dealing with gay and lesbian issues, I found this quote (referring to his role as Max in the stage version of Bent – the Clive Owen role in the movie, which if you haven’t seen, you should):

Such hypocrisy is current today in the argument that gays and lesbians should be seen and heard only when they pretend to be straight. Homosexuals are thus encouraged to disguise their true feelings. Is that why so many become professional actors?

One of my actor characters says something very similar, although he arrives at a different conclusion.  I wrote that section around 2004.  I found Sir Ian’s site today.  I love serendipity.

2 Responses to “Art imitates life, whether it wants to or not…”

  1. Erastes said

    Pre internet days? (Looks around for your cave…) 😀

    Well done on the progress.

    As to the cut, no, it doesn’t work on the LJ page, but no worries, it wasn’t a long post! The amount of cuttage depends on the settings, it’s somewhere on the dashboard. I’ve been trying to find it, but WP is going insanely slowly for some reason.

    Can’t wait to re-read it.

  2. rwday said

    Thanks for letting me know the cut didn’t work – I’ve been wanting to write about more specific details as I try to work out some final plot issues, but didn’t want to inadvertently spoil anybody. Now I know I can’t do that on the blog. 😦

    And I can’t wait to get it to you. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, and if I can keep up this pace, I should have this done in no more than 2 weeks, probably a lot less.

Leave a Reply

 
