Rebecca Day

I see the light!

Posted by rwday on July 21, 2009

10980 / 20000 words. 55% done!

I’ve put a semi-final polish on Chapters 1-17 and 26 – 30, so I have 8 chapters left and most of that is just slotting in the rewritten journal sections. Yesterday I worked out two minor problems in a way that I think will make this book much stronger overall, with a better sense of symmetry. Character growth stuff.

I can see the light at the end of the tunnel and it is NOT a train – I’m hoping to have this ready to go out to my readers by Sunday. Maybe sooner, though I need to stop blowing off schoolwork to edit.

I didn’t want to come back to this, felt like I was done with David and Callan and there wasn’t anything left for me to learn from returning to this world. I did it because too many readers asked, and I felt like I was letting them down. But I have learned so much about revision and rewriting in this process. Thaw was essentially complete as I finished it. A minor bit of polishing, a few scenes deleted, and it was done. This has required massive rewrites, serious line by line examination of word choice, etc., and character behavior. I needed to finish this book, not only for the readers, but for me, and I’m glad I did it.

So if you ever wrote me an email or left a comment asking for a sequel, thank you!

2 Responses to “I see the light!”

  1. Keira said

    Thank you for writing a sequel and for your assurances to my previous comment about romance/HEA. I really look forward to reading it! 🙂

    • rwday said

      Keira, I went back and read what I’d said to you before. One thing I will add is that I don’t necessarily follow the conventions of modern romance. My romance tastes were formed during the 1970’s, which was a very different era when it comes to how romance novels were structured – not necessarily more realistic, but unrealistic in a different way than I think you see today.

      You’re going to get your HEA/HFN, but I can’t promise you a smooth ride to that ending.

Leave a Reply

 
